top of page
  • Writer's pictureOscar Quick

Back To It

Ah the usual summer depression, that time of year where the regularity of uni comes to an end and I am sent into a mad spiral of mania followed by a deep bout of hopeless depression.


As a result of my mental health I've had to conserve my energy as much as possible and focus on other aspects of Needs More Cowbell. The Youtube channel has consistently had uploads every sunday for the last three months and I'm very proud of the work I've done there, I've also released my debut album Weaponised Soup, and done no end of radio appearances and live sound work.


But also in that time I quit a job I'd only just started, had a complete breakdown and put on 16lbs.


I'm feeling better, most likely because I start uni next week and I finally have focus again. I've spent this evening writing a script for a big video and I thought I'd finally break silence on the blog.


This isn't the first time I've had to cut back on blog posts, they are usually the first thing I drop when the going gets tough, and I doubt it will be the last time I go on temporary hiatus. But blog posts and reviews are the bread and butter of Needs More Cowbell, and I know I am good at it.


So I've got a plan.


I'm going to be spending my spare time over the next few weeks creating a backlog of reviews. My initial promise of three blog posts a week I realise now was unrealistic, so I'm going to stick to one, released every tuesday and try to maintain my sanity as best I can. There will still be weekly videos, occasional music releases and gigs, along with bigger projects such as SOUPFEST on a yearly basis. My hope by creating this backlog is that I'll be reassured by the knowledge that regular releases are coming out without the constant pressure to consistently create. As long as I maintain on top of the schedule, rather than the deadline, I reckon I'll be ok.


So I'm back to it, for how long? Who knows? What I do know is, I'm not done yet.


Peace, Love & Cowbells,


Oscar


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page