top of page
  • Writer's pictureOscar Quick

Rave Music Is Back! Rezzonator ft Bassey

Former writer for Needs More Cowbell, Bassey Easton, got in touch with me about his collaboration with Nottingham based ambient electronic artist Rezzonator. Their new track “How You Gonna Breathe” is a combination of acid house rave and 80’s alternative style vocals. It’s certainly an interesting mix and I can’t wait to discuss it!



Now truth be told, I don’t know much about rave music, the electronic music I like is all from the late 70s. But I watched a documentary on acid house once so I’ll try and base this review on what little information I remember from that. I can tell the hallmarks of the genre are there, the consistent bubbly synth riff and drum beat are what form the foundation of the track. Layers of synths rise and fall to create the various sections and it’s exactly the kind of thing I can imagine dancing to at the Hacienda.


But that has been done many times over the years. The Hacienda is now a block of flats, like everywhere else, and all we have to remember it by is a few vinyl compilations and documentaries.


But here is where it gets interesting.


Vocally, the 1980s influence is clear on every level, from production to note choice. The timbre of the vocalists voice is distinctly unique like all voices, but you can hear elements of Echo & The Bunnymen, Tears For Fears and even Sisters Of Mercy in there. The abundance of vocal effects in the production only enhance the style.


I will say that the amount of reverb does obscure the lyrics on the lower notes of the vocal melody. But that’s fairly common for the style, and is something I too am guilty of in my own work.


I do think that unless you are specifically into 1980s rave culture it might be hard to get into a track such as this due the lack of a catchy hook. This sort of music is centred on the rhythm, which is fine, but I was hoping for a cheesy 80s pop melody somewhere in the synth lines, and unfortunately I never got it.

For fans of the genre, this track is a lot of fun, and for those who are curious about the history of rave music , this is a great place to start to get that classic feel. Check out the single when it releases on the 29th July and I will see you all soon.


Peace, Love & Cowbells,

Oscar

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page