top of page
  • Writer's pictureOscar Quick

Think Electronic Music Isn't Human? Time To ReHumanise.

I was so excited when ReHumanise dropped into my inbox. I've not come across anyone else who draws from the same creative well that I do, until today. ReHumanise, also known as Damien Brady is an electronic music artist with a penchant for world instruments and classic post punk. Damien, I feel like we need to have a discussion at some point, because I'm so pleased to know I'm not the only person with these sorts of ideas. Let's start a movement?


Anyway, now I'm finished trying to revolutionise the music industry, let's talk about what we are really here for. The music.


And what music it is.


The new ReHumanise track "Elemental" is an astonishing piece of work with stellar production and vibrant atmosphere. It's a perfect blend of Radiohead wall of noise with synth and drum work reminiscent of The Human League. It's the sort of music you'd be happy to dance to at a new wave night, but has the emotional quality that every good track needs. Some people would claim that electronic music is too robotic, but ReHumanise laughs in the face of that statement with soaring vocals and uplifting synth lines. I very much get a Tears For Fears vibe from the production style. I do love me some reverb, however I feel that the lyrics are slightly indiscernible under the walls of sound. But those sounds are pretty damn good so I think we can all let Damien get away with that one!


The only caveat I have with "Elemental" is perhaps one of its greatest strengths. You see upon first listen I found the track to be a bit long in the tooth. Had it been cut down by a minute or so, I feel it would be a far better pop track. But once you stick the song on repeat and you forget about any structure, it just can't be beaten. It's such a vibe and I've been dancing in my chair while writing this review. I thoroughly recommend listening to everything ReHumanise and join us in starting this movement that I totally didn't just come up with five minutes ago.


Peace, Love & Cowbells,


Oscar


Spotify Link to ReHumanise: https://spoti.fi/3tT1v89


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page